Please reload

Recent Posts

American Ethanol Modified Tour Cease Operations

January 9, 2020

Please reload

Featured Posts

Collin Thirlby Dominates NUVU Fuels 30 from I-96 Speedway

May 18, 2019



Lake Odessa, MI (Saturday, May 18th, 2019) - The American Ethanol Modified Tour Presented by Allstar Performance (AEmods) took on the I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Michigan on Friday, May 17th.  The NUVU Fuels 30 marked the first time the AEmods had tackled the Speedway since June of 2017, and the 24 drivers that made up the field proved they had not forgotten how to navigate the fast 4/10ths mile oval.


The evening started with American Ethanol Qualifying, where three groups would battle for a chance to take home the Motul Motor Oil and Lubricants Fast Qualifier Award.  Group one was lead by David Mielke, who holds the record for Most Career Fast Qualifier Awards, at 11, he turned in a 17.669 second lap time. Group two saw Joe Rokos best John McClure with a time of 17.299, and the final group was lead by Chad Bauer at a 17.280.  Bauer took the Motul OIl and Lubricants Fast Qualifier Award by just 19-one-hundredths of a second.


The first race of the evening was  Allstar Performance Heat Race Number One, and the fans saw a massive fight for the win, that came down to the final corner.  Andy Sherely and Brad Wilson lead the field to the American Ethanol Green Flag. Wilson and Mielke went to work trying to decide who was going to pick up the heat race win - Wilson worked his way around the outside of the race track, keeping up his momentum working the cushion, while Mielke planted his car on the bottom of the race track using the short way around.  Wilson, at times, appeared to have the race won, but Mielke never gave up on his charge, making a last lap, last corner pass to beat Wilson to the line by just six-one-thousandths of a second. Luke Hubbell finished out the podium, with Sherley and Garrett Rons rounding out the top five. Heat Race Number Two saw Dylan Woodling get the best of Rokos, McClure, Todd Sherman, and Dillon Nusbaum.  In Lane Automotive Heat Race Number Three, Mt. Carmel, Illinois’ Will Krup took the checkered flag by over a second-and-a-half over Collin Thirlby, Bauer, Curt Spalding, and David Vanguilder.  All 24 cars on property were scheduled to start the 30 Lap main event, with the top three cars eligible for the redraw.


The Zeigler Ford American Ethanol Pace Truck lead 22 cars onto the Speedway, with Brad Wilson and Collin Thirlby on the front row.  Thirlby took the early lead, as they went two and three wide through the rest of the field. A fairly clean event saw four cautions wave for single car spins and debris.  Mielke and Dylan Woodling worked each other over throughout, what seemed like the entire event, taking turns running in second and third. Inside of five laps to go, the final caution of the night flew, allowing Woodling and Mielke a final chance to try and make a move on Thirlby, but to no avail as Thirlby went to victory lane.


Next up for the AEmods is a double-header with the American Ethanol Late Model Tour from Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, Indiana on Saturday, May 18th.  Gates open at 3:00 p.m. with Hot Laps at 6:00 p.m. and racing to follow. Then, on Sunday, May 19th, both Tours take on Gas City I-69 Speedway for the American Ethanol Showdown!  For more on the AEmods, including behind the scenes access, stories, and more, log on to, and follow the Tour on social media including Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Unofficial Results:


  1. 47 Collin Thirlby

  2. 3W Dylan Woodling

  3. 87 David Mielke

  4. K19 Will Krup

  5. 65 Todd Sherman

  6. 77 Joe Rokos

  7. 23 Luke Hubbell

  8. 8C Corey Bevard

  9. 19 Chad Bauer

  10. 5D David VanGuilder

  11. 15 Dave Baker

  12. 81 Rick Swartout

  13. 9 Garrett Rons

  14. 98P Patrick Lajeunesse

  15. 26P Michael Patrick

  16. 12M John McClure

  17. 32H Dan Hubbell

  18. 12 Jeff Reay

  19. 21W Brad Wilson

  20. 44 Andy Sherley

  21. 1E Jeffery Erickson Jr.

  22. 17N Dillon Nusbaum


Allstar Performance Heat Race 1

  1. 87 David Mielke

  2. 21W Brad Wilson

  3. 23 Luke Hubbell

  4. 44 Andy Sherley

  5. 9 Garrett Rons

  6. 26P Michael Patrick

  7. 98P Patrick Lajeunesse

  8. 5X Trent Musk Heat Race 2

  1. 3W Dylan Woodling

  2. 77 Joe Rokos

  3. 12M John McClure

  4. 65 Todd Sherman

  5. 17N Dillon Nusbaum

  6. 15 Dave Baker

  7. 81 Rick Swartout


Lane Automotive Heat Race 3

  1. K19 Will Krup

  2. 47 Collin Thirlby

  3. 19 Chad Bauer

  4. 111 Curt Spalding

  5. 5D David VanGuilder

  6. 32H Dan Hubbell

  7. 12 Jeff Reay

  8. 8C Corey Bevard

  9. 1E Jeffery Erickson Jr.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow Us