Please reload

Recent Posts

American Ethanol Modified Tour Cease Operations

January 9, 2020

Please reload

Featured Posts

Spalding Wins Lane Automotive 30 at Hartford


Hartford, MI (Friday, August 31, 2018) - The American Ethanol Modified Tour Presented by Allstar Performance (AEMODT) competed Friday night at Hartford Speedway in a rain make-up show that featured 29 of the area’s best DirtCar UMP Modified drivers, battling for 21 spots in the Lane Automotive 30.  Of the nearly 30 cars on property, one driver consistently put himself in contention for a strong finish, and thanks to his efforts, picked up his first career AEMODT feature win.


The night started as all events do for the AEMODT, with Motul Motor Oil and Lubricants Qualifying.  David Mielke set the pace early on, topping the board for group number one at an 18.658 second lap time.  Group two was paced by Jefferey Erickson, Jr. at a 19.264. Group three, however, featured the lap time good enough for Motul Motor Oil and Lubricants quick time, as 2017 and 2018 Hartford Speedway track champion Zeke McKenzi turning in an 18.551 second lap time.


From there, it was time for heat race action, with the top three from each race going to the all-important re-draw, while the top five transferred in to the Lane Automotive 30.  Allstar Performance Heat Race Number One was uneventful as Mielke went to the front of the field, opening up an impressive lead over Jacob Poel, cruising to the victory in the race that went without a caution.  QuarterMaster Clutches Heat Race Number Two also proved to be fairly uneventful, as the only caution came when Brad Wilson had an engine failure on lap one. Dave Baker went on to collect the win ahead of Jeffery Erickson Jr. and Bob Baldwin.  Finally, Heat Race Number Three rolled onto the Speedway, only being slowed for an improper start. From there, Chad Bauer went on to collect the win.


12 cars rolled off for the 12-lap Poet BioFuels Last Chance Qualifier, all looking for a top five finish to punch their ticket into the main event.  Clayton Smith jumped out to the early lead in the event that was only slowed for a two-car incident in turns three and four, when Jake Rendel spun sideways, while Rick Swartout spun to avoid.  Smith went on to collect the win, while Curtis Diesinroth turned a number of heads, powering from 6th to 2nd in two laps on the outside of the racetrack to punch his way into the show.


The field was set for the AEMODT's Lane Automotive 30 from Hartford Speedway.  Zeke McKenzie lead the field to the American Ethanol green flag. The racing was intense all throughout the field on the opening laps, while Jacob Poel, David Mielke, and Curt Spalding all locked into a battle for the second position.  On just the fourth lap of the race, Mielke and Poel both got a run to the outside of Spalding coming off the second corner. As the drivers worked down the backstretch, it was clear no driver was going to give an inch, and it was Mielke who folded, as he went into turn three sideways, colliding with Poel, and spinning to a stop in the middle of the track.  For Mielke, it would flatten his right rear tire and send him to the tail. Poel would only suffer cosmetic damage. Mielke's night would come to an end shortly after that, when he spun into the turn three wall on lap five.


The field would race on, with Poel continuing to try and get around Spalding, while the two both watched McKenzie set the pace.  A multi-car accident would slow the field again on lap 13, as Smith, Steven Shellenberger, and Anthony Deming collided in turns three and four.  From there, several laps of good, clean racing were logged as Spalding slowly worked in McKenzie as they raced. With just nine laps to go, McKenzie went high coming off of turn four, opening the door for Spalding (who had been committed to the bottom of the track) who took the lead as they crossed the stripe.  As the leaders were getting set to take the white flag, another caution would fly as Shellenberger and Micheal Patrick collided in turn three. The late race restart was no match for Spalding, as he went on to collect the win. McKenzi struggled on the restart, falling outside of the podium in fourth, while Bauer and Poel went on to fill the podium.


The next event for the AEMODT is race two of the weekend double header, as teams travel to Lake City, Michigan's Merritt Speedway for the 30.  If you can't attend the event, be sure to log onto and click "Race Day Live". There, you'll find flag-to-flag coverage of the event powered by Motorsports Broadcasting of Michigan, as well as LIVE timing and scoring powered by Motor City Racing Promotions.


Join the conversation with the AEMODT on social media, including Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, using the hashtag AEMODT.



Lane Automotive 30 A-Main

1. 111 Curt Spalding

2. 19 Chad Bauer

3. 82 Jacob Poel

4. 24 Zeke McKenzie 

5. 15 Dave Baker

6. 2D Curtis Delsenroth

7. 47 Collin Thirlby

8. 4J Paul Johnson

9. 6 Steve Pena

10. 313 Clayton Smith 

11. 42 Bob Baldwin

12. 77D Anthony Deming

13. 23 Luke Hubbell

14. 29 Steve Shellenberger

15. 5D David VanGuilder

16. 1E Jeffery Erickson Jr.

17. 26P Michael Patrick 

18. 24N Kyle Novak

19. 12 John McClure

20. 87 David Mielke

21. 28M Frank Marshall 


Last Chance Qualifier 

1. 313 Clayton Smith 

2. 2D Curtis Delsenroth

3. 29 Steve Shellenberger

4. 26P Michael Patrick

5. 23 Luke Hubbell

6. 77D Anthony Deming

7. 9 Garrett Rons

8. 13 Andy Galgoci

9. 06R Jake Rendel

10. 81 Rick Swartout

11. 6 Jarrett Rendel

12. 4 Mike Langon 


Heat 3

1. 19 Chad Bauer

2. 24 Zeke McKenzie

3. 111 Curt Spalding

4. 12 John McClure

5. 28M Frank Marshall 

6. 29 Steve Shellenberger 

7. 6 Jarrett Rendel

8. 13 Andy Galgoci

9. 06R Jake Rendel


Heat 2

1. 15 Dave Baker

2. 1E Jeffery Erickson Jr. 

3. 42 Bob Baldwin 

4. 24N Kyle Novak 

5. 4J Paul Johnson 

6. 313 Clayton Smith 

7. 9 Garrett Rons

8. 23 Luke Hubbell 

9. 81 Rick Swarout 

10. 21W Brad Wilson 


Heat 1

1. 87 David Mielke

2. 82 Jacob Poel 

3. 5D David VanGuilder

4. 6 Steve Pena

5. 47 Collin Thirlby

6. 26P Michael Patrick 

7. 77D Anthony Deming 

8. 4 Mike Langon 




Allstar Performance Hard Charger: *2D Curtis Delsenroth 

CompCams Halfway Leader: *24 Zeke McKenzie

ARP Most Laps Led: *24 Zeke McKenzie 

Dirty Girl Racewear P10: 313 Clayton Smith 

Quarter Master Move of the Race: 82 Jacob Poel 

Motul Motor Oil Fast Time: *24 Zeke McKenzie 

Lane Automotive Member A: 111 Curt Spalding 

Quick Car Member B: 9 Garrett Rons

* = Non-Member, not eligible to receive award certificate



Story By: Motorsports Broadcasting of Michigan

Photo By: Jim DenHamer




Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter